top of page
Search

Blueberry Oatmeal Cookies: A Labour of Love...

Updated: Apr 23, 2020

Talk about the Fruits of your labour. Literally.


So there I was, going to visit my good friend, Farmer Bernard over at Nebedaye Farms. I was in need of an escape! I felt like I was being consumed by the troubles of the world and I would fare well to get away from it all. Back to nature. Back to my roots, y'all. He needed some insight on building outdoor kitchens to supplement a potential agrihood. We ALL need somebody. I was shocked at how close this farm was...it took me 20 min from Charlotte's city center to reach this cultural oasis. Some things that we need, that we search high and low for, end up being right under our noses.


I was intentional of every step as we toured the compound. Once I got out there, I forgot about all the things that were calling my name, requiring things of me and from me. I let go of my monkey mind with each exhale and accepted feelings of love and worth with each inhale. I was transported back to simpler times. Running through my grandmother's garden chasing geese with my sister and my little cousins. Our biggest worry was her catching us stepping on her crops as we dodged ferocious, winged, geese out to destroy us for messing with their goslings. As I trailed Bernard through his garden, being careful to watch my step, I laughed to myself as I heard my grandmothers' voice threatening us from her screen door. We just wanted to pet them, Daaaaaanng!


Farmer B and I talked shop awhile before I went off to explore on my own. In the quest to mitigate injustices within the U.S. food systems and introduce healing to a community of historically oppressed generations of people, this man founded both Bennu Gardens and Nebedaye Farms. He educated me on agrihoods and how detrimental they have proven to be in strengthening and empowering a community. You can always gain something from someone else's story. If you want to learn more about some of the OUTSTANDING work that Bernard Singleton is doing in and around our Queen City and surrounding areas, stop over at Nebedaye Farms or Bennu Gardens. You'll be inspired, Promise.



I couldn't resist ogling (and eventually eating) some of the blueberries hanging carefree from the vines as I strolled through the grounds. Bernard noticed my sticky fingers and suggested I stay awhile and pick a few to take home with me. I had been waiting for that invite since I arrived. He also suggested my assistance with a tiny project he had...Just real quick...



An hour and 7 raised garden beds built-from-scratch later, I started towards the blueberries with a small container in tow. You can see some of my spectacular work in the pics below. For some reason, I was elated to pick berries. I had probably never done this before, but it couldn't be rocket science. I looked for the ones that were just the right blue, plump and blemish-free. The ones that had served their time and their purpose in the moment. The ones that were ready for the next step, no matter what the end result looked like. The ones that easily let go. There was a message in them for me. I got lost in the beauty of a berry, y'all.



Food is life and there is much power to be consumed when visiting it at its source. In its rawest, purest, most organic form, it has the ability to reconnect you back to your Source. I was so grateful for the time spent in nature that day, I raided my pantry for something to make when I got home; I had to show my gratitude to those berries! I found some rolled oats in the pantry, and of course there is always flour, sugar, eggs and butter in my kitchen. Only one thing seemed logical...Blueberry Oatmeal Cookies! Did you know, everything you need to be great, you already possess?? It's intrinsic to your nature! Raid your pantry and meet me back here in 5 for these quick, "no thought just get 'er done" cookies!




 

Bernard's Blueberries + Oatmeal Cookies

Prep: 30 min Serves: 12


  • 1/2 cup butter, softened at room temperature

  • 1/4 cp brown sugar (my berries were deliciously sweet so I didn't need that much)

  • 1 egg

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • 1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats

  • 1 cup flour

  • 1 tsp cinnamon

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

  • 1 cup freshly picked and loved over blueberries (popping them in the freezer for an hour will keep your cookies from bleeding/turning purple)

MOP:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  2. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and brown sugar until fluffy. Add egg and vanilla to the mix. 

  3. Combine oats, flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda and baking powder. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients.

  4. Fold in frozen blueberries, being mindful not to crush them. My favorite pastry chef in culinary school taught us to toss them in flour to prevent them from sinking into the batter and bleeding. I would DEFINITELY do that if I were baking a cake or muffins, or something more dense than cookies. Your choice. You're in control.

  5. Scoop roughly 2 tablespoons of dough onto your cookie sheet or silpat. Don't place them so close to each other as they will spread slightly when baked.

  6. Place in preheated oven for 12-14 minutes, depending on how much of a beast your oven is. Remove to cool and enjoy!



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page